Two action-packed days of cricket marked the end of the UK university cricket season this week with three Finals taking place.

Earlier this week, six teams traveled to Leicestershire, England to compete in the 2021/22 BUCS Cricket Championship and Trophy Finals.

This year’s Championship Finals saw Leeds/Bradford UCCE vs Loughborough in the Men’s Final, and Durham vs Loughborough in the Women’s Final. Wednesday’s action was then followed by Men’s Trophy Final on Thursday with Leeds vs Leeds Beckett.

We take a look at this year’s venue and the results from all three finals below.

The Venue

St George's Park National Football Centre

All three of this year’s BUCS Cricket Finals were played at Kibworth Cricket Ground, in Leicestershire, England. The ground is home to current Leicestershire Premier Cricket League Champions, Kibworth XI, and has previously hosted several Women’s One Day Internationals including New Zealand and England.

The Results

This year’s Men’s Championship Final was contested by Leeds/Bradford UCCE and Loughborough UCCE. After bowling Loughborough out for 197 runs in 31 overs, it took Leeds/Bradford just 17.4 overs to score the required 198 runs and record a 7-wicket victory. The outstanding team performance saw Leeds/Bradford UCCE be crowned BUCS Cricket National Championship Winners.

In Wednesday’s Women’s Championship Final, Premier North Division Champions, Loughborough University looked to defend their title for the 12th year running against Durham University. After posting a huge total of 294 in 50 overs (which included an incredible knock of 143 from wicket keeper Mia Rogers), it took Durham just 26 overs to bowl out Loughborough and became BUCS Champions for the first time since the competition began in 2011.

Some light rain during the morning session of Thursday’s Men’s Trophy Final between rivals Leeds Beckett University and the University of Leeds meant the match was reduced to 44 overs. After bowling Leeds out for 132, Leeds Beckett lost just two wickets on their way to retaining the BUCS Trophy title for a second year running with an impressive 8-wicket victory.

See the winners from this year’s BUCS Cricket finals below.

Men’s Championship Winner

Leeds/Bradford UCCE

Leeds/Bradford UCCE

Final Scores: 

Loughborough UCCE – 197/10 (31)
Leeds/Bradford UCCE – 198/3 (17.4)

Women’s Championship Winner

Durham University

Durham University

Final Scores:

Loughborough UCCE – 111/10 (26.1)
Durham UCCE – 294/6 (50)

Men’s Trophy Winner

Leeds Beckett University

Leeds Beckett University

Final Scores:

University of Leeds – 132/10
Leeds Beckett University – 133/2

Playing cricket at a university in the U.K.

U.K. university cricket offers students the chance to play in both an indoor and outdoor cricket season. Cricketers can represent their U.K. university in both leagues and knockout tournaments throughout the academic year.

Whether you are looking to play at the highest level of U.K. university cricket or are interested in trying the sport for the first time, we are happy to guide you in finding a suitable opportunity.

U.K. University Cricket

Learn more about U.K. University Cricket via the link below.


Please follow our social media channels to keep up to date with all things sport related across the Higher Education sector!